Winter 2022 Faculty Achievements

MBM faculty continue to excel in their fields. Here are a few highlights of recent accomplishments:

Gabi PopescuMartha GilletteHyunjoon Kong Deborah Leckband Daniel Llano

In January, Gabriel Popescu received the 2022 International Society for Optics and Photonics Dennis Gabor Award in Diffractive Optics for his outstanding achievements in diffractive wavefront technologies.

Martha Gillette and Hyunjoon Kong are leading a team to design a microfluidics-based chip from human stem cells to model the blood-brain interface.

Deborah Leckband recently led a study that revealed how cadherins, which are Velcro-like cellular proteins, perform critical functions to regulate cell communication and biological tissue growth by sensing tissue mechanics.

Dan Llano has been investigating the relationship between hearing loss and cognitive decline in patients with Alzheimer’s disease in a study with other researchers at Carle Illinois College of Medicine. This study could help with early detection and new treatment strategies to delay brain atrophy in patients.